Norvégien : Saltfisk

Le salage du cabillaud est une technique qui remonte au 15e siècle. Cette technique a été développée pour conserver le poisson pendant les longs voyages, pour permettre aux navigateurs de profiter des nutriments dont ils avaient besoin pendant les mois passés en mer. Le sel a des propriétés antibactériennes : il allonge la durée de conservation et permet de stocker les aliments à des températures plus élevées. C'est pour cela que cette méthode de conservation du poisson est devenue populaire dans les pays chauds, tels que l'Espagne ou le Portugal.

Le poisson salé de Norvège a une couleur jaune pale distinctive et une texture délicate. Il a un goût divin, mature et délicieux. Ces qualités ont rendu notre variété de poisson salé si populaire.

Simplement salé

Le processus de transformation du cabillaud en cabillaud salé est facile à mettre en œuvre, mais il s'est affiné sur des milliers d'années. À ce jour, les seuls ingrédients que nous ajoutons sont le sel et le temps, qui permet la maturation de la matière première de qualité.

Cod being salted

Étape une : salage

Il existe différentes techniques de salage du poisson : le salage à sec, le saumurage ou la conservation dans la saumure. En Norvège, nous utilisons plutôt cette troisième technique. Plutôt que de retirer l'eau du poisson, nous l'utilisons pour recouvrir le poisson.

Étape deux : maturation

Les différents cabillauds sont superposés et laissés pour maturation pendant une période de 3 à 4 semaines. Le poisson peut rester en bac plus longtemps, car il atteint un point maximal où il ne peut plus absorber plus de sel. Le processus de maturation donne au cabillaud salé sa saveur particulière, comme pour le fromage ou le vin de qualité.

Salted cod arranged in stacks on pallets
Salted cod in different sizes and qualities

Étape trois : tri

Les bacs sont vidés de leur eau et le poisson salé est trié selon sa qualité et sa taille. Il existe trois normes de qualité (supérieur, universel et mixte) et différentes tailles, de « kid » à « jumbo ».

Je pense que l'utilisation d'ingrédients de qualité est la base de la cuisine. C'est pour cela que j'utilise toujours les meilleurs produits dans mes créations. Parmi ces produits, vous trouverez le Bacalao Tradicional Noruego avec sa texture et son goût remarquables. Grâce au cabillaud salé de Norvège et à la grande variété de plats, j'ai pu satisfaire les palais les plus exigeants. Je le recommande vraiment.
Hung Fai

Hung Fai

Chef espagnol

Tout est dans la prise

Pour préparer un délicieux cabillaud salé, il est primordial d'utiliser des matières premières de qualité. Par chance, la Norvège profite du plus grand stock de cabillaud au monde. Entre février et avril, des bancs de millions de poissons passent de la mer de Barents vers les frayères de la côte nord-est, à proximité des Îles Lofoten. Les pêcheurs profitent de l'abondance de cabillaud de qualité et mettent rapidement leurs filets à l'eau.

Pour préparer un cabillaud salé de qualité, il est essentiel que le pêcheur coupe immédiatement la gorge du poisson et le laisse se vider de son sang dans l'eau de mer. Cela permet de retirer presque tout le sang avant le salage. Le cabillaud salé peut également être préparé à partir de cabillaud surgelé, ce qui nous permet d'en préparer toute l'année.

Infographic showing fish swimming towards a sign with the text Northern coast

Des millions de poissons passent de la mer de Barents vers les frayères de la côte nord-est, à proximité des Îles Lofoten.

Infographic showing two fish surrounded by snowflakes

Le cabillaud salé peut également être préparé à partir de cabillaud surgelé, ce qui nous permet d'en avoir toute l'année.

Infographic showing a magnifying glass and a graph

Un processus strict de gestion et de surveillance est suivi tout au long de la saison pour garantir la qualité à chaque étape.

Faire tremper le cabillaud salé

Le cabillaud salé a une très forte teneur en sel ; il faut donc le faire tremper avant de le consommer. Suivez ces consignes simples pour déguster un délicieux cabillaud salé à tous les coups.

Infographic showing a fish in a bowl of water
Étape une : faire tremper

Rincer le poisson salé à l'eau claire et froide pour retirer l'excès de sel, puis laisser tremper le poisson dans un saladier. Le saladier doit contenir au moins trois fois plus d'eau que de poisson, à une température comprise entre 6 et 8 °C.

Infographic showing water dripping on a fish
Étape deux : changer l'eau

Verser de l'eau fraîche sur le poisson salé toutes les 8 heures.

Infographic showing a pot with the number 48hrs
Étape trois : cuisiner

Le poisson salé est prêt à être cuisiné après 48 heures.

Infographic showing recommended cuts for bigger and smaller sizes clipfish
Étape quatre : découper

Pour tirer le meilleur de votre poisson salé, nous recommandons les découpes suivantes.

Nutritif et délicieux

L'un des principaux avantages de ce mode de conservation du cabillaud est qu'il préserve l'ensemble des nutriments naturels. Le cabillaud salé est savoureux et facile à digérer ; il possède également nombreuses des propriétés nutritionnelles du cabillaud frais. Il est riche en protéines et en vitamine D, pour que vos consommateurs profitent d'un mets délicieux et bon pour la santé.

Canapé with salted cod
Le cabillaud salé est riche en protéines et en vitamine D.

Questions sur le cabillaud salé

Le secteur du poisson en Norvège respecte la réglementation européenne en matière de sécurité alimentaire. Notre Autorité de sécurité alimentaire est responsable de vérifier la sécurité des aliments, de recommander de nouvelles mesures et de proposer des réglementations. Le Comité scientifique pour la sécurité alimentaire est chargé de réaliser des évaluations des risques. 

Oui, et cela est même encouragé. L'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) recommande aux femmes enceintes de consommer plus de produits de la mer.

Le Comité scientifique norvégien pour la Sécurité alimentaire a découvert que la consommation de sushis pendant la grossesse est sûre, cela s'étend donc également au poisson salé cru. Si vous préparez du poisson cru, veillez à ce que la chaîne de froid n'ait pas été interrompue pendant le transport. Vous devez au préalable congeler le poisson afin de tuer les parasites.

Norwegian: Saltfisk

Adding salt to cod is a method that can be traced all the way back to the 15th Century. It's a technique that was developed to preserve fish ahead of long journeys, ensuring that sailors had the nutrition they needed for months at sea. Salt has antibacterial properties, so it gives fish a longer shelf life and makes it suitable for storing at warmer temperatures – hence this method of preserving fish became popular in hotter countries, such as Spain and Portugal.

Norwegian saltfish has a distinctive pale yellow colour and a delicate texture. Its flavour is exquisite – mature and delicious. It’s these qualities that have made our particular variety of saltfish so popular.

simply salted

Transforming cod into saltfish is a simple process, but one that has been refined over thousands of years. To this day, the only ingredients we add are salt and time, which enable the high quality raw product to mature.

Cod being salted

Step one: Salting

There are a few different ways that fish can be salted – dry salting, brining or pickling. Here in Norway, we tend to pickle our fish so that the water doesn’t run out of the container, but is instead used to cover the fish.

Step two: Maturation

The cod is then layered and left to mature over a period of 3-4 weeks. The fish can stay in its container for longer, as it will reach a point where no more salt can be absorbed. The maturing process gives the salted cod its distinct and desired flavour – as it does for high quality cheese or wine.

Salted cod arranged in stacks on pallets
Salted cod in different sizes and qualities

Step three: Sorting

The water is removed from the containers and the saltfish is sorted according to quality and size. There are three quality standards – superior, universal and mixed – and a range of sizes from ‘kid’ to ‘jumbo’.

Hung Fai
I believe that quality ingredients are the fundamental base for any kind of cooking. That is why I always use the best products in my creations. Among these, you’ll find the Bacalao Tradicional Noruego with its outstanding texture and taste. Thanks to Norwegian saltfish and the great variety of dishes, I have been able to please the most demanding palates. I truly recommend it.

Hung Fai

Spanish chef

the catch is key

Creating delicious saltfish requires the very best in raw materials. Luckily, Norway has some of the largest cod stocks in the world. Between February and April, shoals of millions of fish make their way from the Barents Sea to the spawning grounds on Norway’s northern coast. The fishermen make the most of the abundance of high quality cod, swiftly taking their nets to the seas.

In order to make quality saltfish, it’s essential that the fishermen cut the throat of the fish immediately and let it bleed out in flowing seawater. This ensures that most of the blood is removed before salting. Saltfish can also be made from cod that has been frozen, so we are able to produce it year-round.

Infographic showing fish swimming towards a sign with the text Northern coast

Millions of fish make their way from the Barents Sea to the spawning grounds on Norway’s northern coast.

Infographic showing two fish surrounded by snowflakes

Saltfish can also be made from cod that has been frozen, so we are able to produce it year-round.

Strict controls

Norwegian saltfish is exported all over the world. It represents us and so we are passionate about its quality. Throughout the season there is a strict managing and monitoring process in place to ensure quality at every stage.

Infographic showing a magnifying glass and a graph

Throughout the season there is a strict managing and monitoring process in place to ensure quality at every stage.

The quality of the salt directly impacts the quality of the saltfish, so we only use fresh, clean salt throughout the process. In fact, it is illegal to reuse salt once it has been used to make saltfish.

Soaking saltfish

Saltfish has a very high salt content and must be soaked before eating. Follow these simple instructions to enjoy delicious saltfish every time.

Infographic showing a fish in a bowl of water

Step one: Soak

Rinse the saltfish in clean, cold water to remove the excess salt, and then place the fish into a bowl to soak. There should be at least 3X as much water as fish and the water should be between 6-8°C.

Infographic showing water dripping on a fish

Step two: Change the water

Pour fresh water over the saltfish every 8 hours.

Infographic showing a pot with the number 48hrs

Step three: Ready to cook

The saltfish will be ready to cook after 48 hours.

Infographic showing recommended cuts for bigger and smaller sizes clipfish

Step four: Portions

In order to make the most of your saltfish, we recommend the following cuts.

When saltfish is made it contains roughly 20 % salt, 55 % water and 25 % protein. Some of this salt is removed through the soaking process. 

nutritious and delicious

One of the main benefits of preserving cod is locking in all of the natural nutrition for a later date. Saltfish is tasty and easily digested; it also contains many of the nutritional properties of fresh cod. It is rich in protein and vitamin D, so your customers can enjoy a delicious meal with all of the added health benefits.

Saltfish is rich in protein and vitamin D, so your customers can enjoy a delicious meal with all of the added health benefits.

Frequently asked questions

How do I know that salted cod from Norway is safe?

Norway's fish industry operates in accordance with EU food safety legislation. Our Food Safety Authority is responsible for checking food safety, recommending new measures and drawing up regulations. The Scientific Committee for Food Safety is responsible for conducting risk assessments 
 

Is it safe for pregnant women to eat fish and seafood?

Yes – in fact it’s encouraged. The World Health Organisation (WHO) recommends that women eat more seafood while pregnant.
 

What about raw saltfish?

The Norwegian Scientific Committee for Food Safety has concluded that it is safe to eat sushi while pregnant, so this extends to raw saltfish. If you are preparing raw fish, make sure that the cooling chain has not been broken during transportation. You must freeze the fish first to kill any parasites.